Octopus: Mining Space and Terrestrial Data for Improved Weather, Climate and Agriculture Predictions

Approved by the CODATA 28th General Assembly,Taipei, 2012



Terms of Reference of the Task Group


The main aim of OCTOPUS is two-fold - to develop and apply enhanced data mining techniques for detecting, visualising and analysing the interactions and dynamics of space and terrestrial weather and to measure their impact on terrestrial phenomena. Its specific terms of reference are as follows:

  1. To explore the theoretical and empirical bases for the relationship between space and terrestrial weather based on historical and predicted data.
  2. To develop enhanced data mining methods for studying associations between the key parameters of terrestrial and space weather.
  3. To develop a general framework for associating space and terrestrial weather with terrestrial parameters such as agricultural productivity and water sources.
  4. To develop an integrated tool for monitoring and modeling variations and associations of the above parameters.
  5. To support young scientists & researchers within OCTOPUS’ research area.

 

Membership



Chair: Dr Kassim S. Mwitondi
Sheffield Hallam University
Faculty of Arts, Engineering, Computing and Sciences
United Kingdom
K.Mwitondi@shu.ac.uk
mwitondi@yahoo.com
Co-Chair: Kehe Wang
Manager of World Data Center
IPS Radio and Space Services
Bureau of Meteorology, Australia
k.wang@bom.gov.au
 
Dr YuTao
National Satellite Meteorological Center
China Meteorological Administration
Beijing, China
yutao@nsmc.cma.gov.cn
Dr Zou Ziming
National Space Science Center
China Academy of Sciences
Beijing China
mzou@nssc.ac.cn
 
Dr Rida Moustafa
Department of Statistics
George Washington University
Washington, DC
shalash@gwu.edu
 
Dr Raphael Mmasi
Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH)
Dar-Es-Salaam.
Tanzania
rmmasi@costech.or.tz
 
Dr Raed Said
Al-Ain University of Science and Technology
United Arab Emirates
raeed.tawfeq@aau.ac.ae
raedsaeed@yahoo.com
 
Dr. Adil E. Yousif
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Qatar University
Doha, Qatar
aeyousif@qu.edu.qa
Dr. Abbas F. M. Alkarkhi
School of Industrial Technology
Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
11800 Penang. Malaysia
http://www.indtech.usm.my/abbas
abbas@usm.my
CC alkarkhi@yahoo.com
Prof. Paolo Gregorio Brunasti
Department of Statistics and Quantitative Methods
University of Milan-Bicocca
paolo.brunasti@unimib.it
Dr Mohamed Dawo
Institute of Integrative and Comparative Biology
Faculty of Biological Sciences
University of Leeds,
Leeds LS2 9JT
United Kingdom.
M.I.Dawo@leeds.ac.uk
Dr Rifaat K. Hassona
Central Laboratories, Radiation Measurements Labs
Qatar Ministry of Environment
rifaatk@hotmail.com
 
Muhammad Ayyaz Ameen
Manager - Space Weather Monitoring Division (SUPARCO)
Karachi, Pakistan
http://www.suparco.gov.pk
ayazamin@yahoo.com
Miss Miza Khamis
Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources.
Department of Forestry And Non Renewable Natural Resources
Zanzibar. Tanzania
mizakhamis@gmail.com
Ms. Sargam M. Mulay
Junior Research Fellow
Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics
Department of Science and Technology. Pune, India.
sargamastro@gmail.com
 
Prof. Tarig El Gamri (PhD)
Head - Water Resources Department
Desertification Research Institute
The National Centre for Research
Sudan Academy of Sciences
Code 11111, PO Box 728 Khartoum, Sudan
tarig_ncr@yahoo.com